Nader Tehrani

Member of the Master Jury 2022

Nader Tehrani is Founding Principal of NADAAA, a practice dedicated to the advancement of design innovation, interdisciplinary collaboration, and an intensive dialogue with the construction industry. For the past seven years in a row, NADAAA has ranked in the top eleven design firms in Architect magazine’s “Top 50 Firms in the United States”, ranking “first” for three years in a row. Mr. Tehrani is also Dean of The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture at The Cooper Union.

For his contributions to architecture as an art, Nader Tehrani is the recipient of the 2020 Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize from The American Academy of Arts and Letters, to which he was also elected as a Member in 2021, the highest form of recognition of artistic merit in The United States. Throughout his career, Tehrani has received eighteen Progressive Architecture Awards and numerous national and international design awards. His work has also been recognized with a number of awards, including the Cooper Hewitt National Design Award in Architecture, and the United States Artists Fellowship in Architecture and Design. He has also received two Harleston Parker Medals and several BSA Honor Awards. He is also the recipient of the 2021 Hotchkiss Alumni Award.

He served as the Frank O. Gehry International Visiting Chair in Architectural Design at the University of Toronto and the inaugural Paul Helmle Fellow at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. He has also recently served as the William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence at the American Academy in Rome.

Nader Tehrani received a B.Arch from The Rhode Island School of Design in 1986. He continued his studies at The Architectural Association, where he attended the Post-Graduate program in History and Theory. Upon his return to The United States, Tehrani received his M.A.U.D from The Harvard Graduate School of Design in 1991.