This structure was originally a palace built in 1910 by Thami El Glaoui, the Pasha of Marrakech, as a palace known for its hospitality. El Glaoui was one of the most powerful officials of the French protectorate and intended for his palace to reflect that. He hosted lavish parties where he conducted business and hosted lavish parties known for fine cuisine, music, and dancing. The palace was a showcase of traditional craftsmanship, decorated with intricate zelij, carved stucco, and cedar woodwork, elaborately carved and painted in geometric patterns. It also has beautifully landscaped gardens.
It was recently converted into a museum, inaugurated on 9 July 2017.